During this exceptional time, please be assured that you can continue to safely place orders on our site with normal delivery times. We are also offering free hand-painted monogramming on all orders and free tracked UK shipping on orders over £150 with code SHIP150.
0 Cart
Added to Cart
    You have items in your cart
    You have 1 item in your cart
    Total
    Check Out Continue Shopping
    Unorthodox Book Cover

    Unorthodox: The Scandalous Rejection of My Hasidic Roots by Deborah Feldman

    Now a Netflix original series!

    “A brave, riveting account... Unorthodox is harrowing, yet triumphant.”
    — Jeannette Walls, New York Times bestselling author of The Glass Castle

    “Compulsively readable, Unorthodox relates a unique coming-of-age story that manages to speak personally to anyone who has ever felt like an outsider in her own life.”
    — School Library Journal

    “An unprecedented view into a Hasidic community that few outsiders ever experience.”
    — Minneapolis Star-Tribune

     “Eloquent, appealing, and just emotional enough... No doubt girls all over Brooklyn are buying this book, hiding it under their mattresses, reading it after lights out—and contemplating, perhaps for the first time, their own escape.”
    The Huffington Post

     

    From the back of the book:

    Unorthodox is the bestselling memoir of a young Jewish woman’s escape from a religious sect, in the tradition of Ayaan Hirsi Ali’s Infidel and Carolyn Jessop’s Escape, featuring a new epilogue by the author.

    As a member of the strictly religious Satmar sect of Hasidic Judaism, Deborah Feldman grew up under a code of relentlessly enforced customs governing everything from what she could wear and to whom she could speak to what she was allowed to read. Yet in spite of her repressive upbringing, Deborah grew into an independent-minded young woman whose stolen moments reading about the empowered literary characters of Jane Austen and Louisa May Alcott helped her to imagine an alternative way of life among the skyscrapers of Manhattan.

    Trapped as a teenager in a sexually and emotionally dysfunctional marriage to a man she barely knew, the tension between Deborah’s desires and her responsibilities as a good Satmar girl grew more explosive until she gave birth at nineteen and realized that, regardless of the obstacles, she would have to forge a path—for herself and her son—to happiness and freedom.

     

    My Review:

    To come...